Consulting Editors


Dr V Siddhartha was an Emeritus Scientist in DRDO. He served in 2009-10 with the Principal Scientific Adviser to the Government of India as Scientific Consultant (Advanced Technologies). He has been twice Consultant to the Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India, on export control and S&T issues in international security, and on the Indian WMD Act, 2005.



Ambassador Sheel Kant Sharma holds a Ph. D. in High Energy Physics from Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay and joined the Indian Foreign Service in 1973. As Joint Secretary (DISA) and later as Additional Secretary (International Organisations) Dr. Sharma was closely involved with bilateral Indo-US nuclear, space, export control and nonproliferation meetings from 2000-2004. Ambassador Sharma served as India's Ambassador to Vienna and was India's Governor on the IAEA Board from 2004 to 2008.

Dr. Sharma was appointed the Secretary-General of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) by the Twenty-ninth Session of the SAARC Council of Ministers and has held this office since March 2008.



Ambassador Rakesh Sood has had a long and  illustrious career in the Indian Foreign Service since 1976. He has served in several Indian Missions and set up the Disarmament and International Security Affairs Division which he led for eight years.

As India's first Ambassador – Permanent Representative to the Conference on Disarmament at the United Nations, in Geneva, from 2001 to 2004, he also chaired a number of Working Groups including the negotiations on landmines and cluster munitions.  Ambassador Sood served on UNSG's Disarmament Advisory Board (2002-03). In September 2013, Ambassador Rakesh Sood was appointed Special Envoy of the Prime Minister (SEPM) for Disarmament and Non-Proliferation Issues, a post he held until May 2014.